Bridgeport Public School has deep roots in the community. The original part of the school opened in 1959. There have been a number of additions since then.
Because of our name, visitors often expect to find Bridgeport PS on Bridgeport Road. Although Bridgeport Road is not far away, Bridgeport PS is named for its proximity to the former village of Bridgeport, at the bottom of the hill near the corner of Bridge and Lancaster Streets. Bridgeport was once a thriving independent village. It was officially incorporated as a village in 1907 and by 1973 the village of Bridgeport was annexed by the City of Kitchener.
The area around the school has developed significantly over the years from farms to a series of family neighbourhoods. These neighbourhoods continue to grow with new subdivisions being built even now. Our school boundaries include areas of both Waterloo and Kitchener making us rather unique.
Our school mascot is Avalanche the polar bear. The distinctive three-arched bridge to Bridgeport is a symbol of our close-knit community and is part of our school logo. The school logo was developed in consultation with students, staff and community. The logo promotes a safe, respectful and caring community. Our motto is “Good choices build bridges”.
The school today has approximately 430 students from JK to Grade 6. Bridgeport has an Extended Day program before and after school for JK to Grade 2 students. (7:00 – 9:10 a.m. and 3:30 – 6:00 p.m.). We also have a Youth Development Program for students from Grade 3 – 6.